Updates for #TropeAthon with Mini-Review

Tropeathon

Hi, everyone!

I find it funny how my TBR for this read-a-thon is a little bit useless because what I’ve read are not the list I posted, though I started them, I still wasn’t able to finish them until now. But I’m glad because the two books I’ve read can still use the prompts for #TropeAthon that I joined. The prompts can be seen below.

Tropeathon - Prompts

I’ve already posted my TBR, and for the Cover Love, I’ve chosen Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein. Now, for the rest of the prompts, let’s see which will fit on the two books I’ve read during the read-a-thon.

Divider 02

Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Here are the prompts that I can use for this book:

  • Enemies to Lovers
  • Other Worlds
  • Slow Burn
  • Recommended to You – Isabelle from BookwyrmBites said I can consider this book as her recommendation, so I did. Thanks for answering my question when I sent you a DM on Discord.

Also, you can read my full review here.

Divider 02

Coral by Sara Ella.jpg

Coral by Sara Ella

Here is the prompt that I can use for this book:

  • Blue on the Cover

Mini-review:

This is like a Little Mermaid retelling, but the story focuses more on discussing subjects like depression, self-harm, suicide, anxiety, and death. I’m glad that I’ve read the author’s note because it is helpful for me to get ready what the story will tell me.

I enjoyed the different POV of the characters. It gives me a depth understanding of them. I also can relate to them because I somehow went under the same situations as them. I’ve lost my favorite grandfather, and in the same year, my life went downhill, that leads me to feel like I’m trapped in an unhappy and dark room. And, this story shows us how one person can act and think when they have these mental illnesses which other people need to understand.

The author has written a story about a complicated subject, but I liked it. It can be complicated and challenging to read for others, especially if they don’t understand the story being told. But I hope they will appreciate this one.

Divider 02

And those are the two books I’ve read during the #TropeAthon, and also the prompts I used on them and the reviews I have for those books. For the TBR I posted, I DNF Carry On by Rainbow Rowell because I didn’t like the narration in it. And I’m still around 20% in Slammed by Colleen Hoover. If only I finished these two, then I might have already covered all the prompts because Carry On is for The Chosen One, while Slammed is for Forbidden Romance.

Anyway, I’m still happy that I get to join this because I don’t know if I can still join one after our semester started, which will be on August 12. I’m an Internal Auditing student (which will be an Accountancy student after four more semesters and if I’ll pass the qualifying exam for it *cross fingers*), so the study time required for us is unimaginable. Well, especially for me, because I’m also an active student leader in college and a youth leader for my nation. That’s why I took a hiatus before because I need to figure out first how to balance being a student/youth leader with my study time and reading time (+ blogging time lol!)

And I’m now concluding that this is the end of my update for #TropeAthon. Thank you for reading!

Did any of you join a read-a-thon lately? What is it? If you also joined #TropeAthon, how was your reading experience during the week-long read-a-thon? *If you also posted an update about it, feel free to comment the link below so I can also read it!*

Alys Signature

25 thoughts on “Updates for #TropeAthon with Mini-Review

  1. I participated in the reading rush this past week and I enjoyed it! I didn’t know Tropeathon was happening but I would have participated if I never about it previously! But maybe next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I heard that there is also another read-a-thon called reading rush with the same week like this. I’m glad I didn’t choose to join it too because I’m not good at staying with what I’ve planned to read lol. As for Tropeathon, they will have another round in October. They are still planning for prompts to use.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Coral has a really pretty colour, I’m very interested in reading, and I’m glad the author added an author’s note – that’s definitely something that should happen more. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like the narration in Carry On. It’s a favourite book of mine.
    Ooh, good luck for your exam 🤞🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never done a readathon before but hearing that you didn’t quite finish it does suggest maybe I could do one in the future. It’s also good to hear a single book can potentially cover multiple prompts which I didn’t know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.